SBS2003 SP2 Offline Printers – Fixed

 This one had me for a while, one printer on the network would go off line for no apparent reason (Dell 1815), no mater what I tried to do with the print spooler service or the printer drivers. On two previous occasions I rebooted the server and the problem went away, far from Ideal but I have a day job to do and I couldn’t afford to spend much more time searching for a fix, That is until this last week, the printer is offline again and rebooting didn’t do anything.

I have now discovered the fix, Apparently due to a number off changes in the way SNMP is handled in SP2.

In the configure ports dialog box, uncheck the “SNMP status enabled” check-box and the printers status changes back to ready.

Fortunately for me I don’t use SNMP otherwise I would still be looking !.

Heres the Dialog box:-
Printer Port Config - SNMP disable

[UPDATE 30-07-2007]

This is now referred to in Microsoft’s latest KB article 939421“Best practices and known issues when you install Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 2” reviewed on the 19th July 2007

16 Responses to “SBS2003 SP2 Offline Printers – Fixed”

  1. Michael Says:

    THANKS for posting this, I had this exact same problem and couldn’t figure out the issue.

    -Michael

  2. Geoff Says:

    Many thanks for the tip, I was starting to pull out my hair, I was stopping and restarting the print spooler after ever 10 jobs, I honestly dont understnad how Microsoft can be so darn stupid to over look this problem. THis problme only appreaded after installing
    THANKS A MILLION FOR THIS VERY HELPFUL HINT .

    PS I am rather embarrresed since I used to work for this crowd some time ago ( MS that is )

  3. Arjan Says:

    Many Thanks.

    Cheers
    Arjan

  4. Adria Richards Says:

    Very helpful. I just moved a Dell 1815dn off a wireless usb print server to the network. The computers mapped directly to the printer through it’s ip address reported the proper status of “Ready” but when added to the print server it was “Offline”. Printing still worked and the web based management page was there.

    Thanks!

  5. Brian Says:

    Wow. This tip was SO handy, as I had the exact same problem as everyone else who’s posted here. One click, and I was back in business!! It was for the Management suite printer, too, so you can imagine how timely it was to find this. THANKS THANKS THANKS!!

  6. Joost Says:

    Thanks a million. This was the exact problem I faced when servicing a call of one of our costumers. Finding this article saved me a lot of time. Thanx again.

  7. Lily Says:

    Thanks! Exactly what I was needed, first hit in Google.

  8. Skiwi Says:

    Aah i hope this is it! Thx !

  9. john Says:

    I too am very happy; for this post saved me hours of time and more impotantly I DID NOT HAVE TO CALL DELL!!! Thanks a meg

  10. nathan Says:

    OH WOW! THanks a bunch for posting this!!! been a headache for weeks- no real IT staff just me the poor SOB who got stuck with the job because I know how to turn on a computer!

  11. Viper Says:

    Worked great — many Thanks!!!!

  12. PeterF Says:

    thanks a lot, this worked immediately!

  13. terry Says:

    Your solution worked perfect for our desktops, but not on our Acer netbook. Thank you for posting. Any other ideas for the netbook?

  14. Bob Says:

    Thank you for posting this. I would have struggled forever to figure this out.

  15. HP LaserJet P2055DN's going offline and not responding Says:

    […] […]

  16. BranFr Says:

    Thank you for posting this.
    unchecked the “SNMP status enabled” on our Win Server 2003 and the faulty printer ist running.
    But I have also 3 printers (LaserJet P2055dn) in the Network with SNMP ENABLED which are working fine.

Leave a Reply

