Nvidia IDE / SATA Drivers BSOD nvstor32.sys – Work Around

For some months now, I have had a persistent problem with my wife’s laptop, she has a HP Pavilion dv6000 (dv6231eu), which came with XP media centre, earlier this year I upgraded the OS to Vista Ultimate, and I used the Vista drivers downloaded from HPs Support Web site. Since then, she has had several BSOD much to MY pain, to make things more difficult, the BSOD screen was blurred and I couldn’t read the message.

After lots of googling, I suspected the problem was with one of the Nvidia driver, I downloaded and installed several different drivers from both Nvidia and HPs web site, and no matter which version I used, the problem was still there.

In the meantime I had installed Microsoft’s Windows Home Server on a re-purposed pc at Home, I installed the accompanying connector software on each machine in the house (4 laptops and 1 media centre pc, all running vista). One of the great features of windows home server is the automated backup of the client machines on the network. after midnight, each night, each machine in turn does a differential bit level backup to the server of each volume on the client pc, usually only taking a few minutes, however in the case of my wife’s laptop, whilst the main system volume C: backed up fine, the machine would BSOD every time is tried to back up the HP recovery volume D: now I had some consistency!.

After some more thought and further looking around I found these great instructions for debugging the MEMORY.DMP file on her PC. After installing the debugger and the symbol set. I had the name of the suspect driver nvstor32.sys

Using the device manager I selected the IDE/SATA devices and located the driver, I first tried rolling back the driver, restarting the machine, backing up with WHS backup and bang, another BSOD. I had finally given up with the Nvidia drives, and decided to revert to a generic windows driver.

So from the driver in the device manager I selected [“update driver software”], [“browse my computer”], [“Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer”] I then selected the “standard dual channel PCI IDE Controller” driver by Microsoft, this is dated 21st June 2006, driver version 6.06000.16386 rather that the Nvidia driver, with this installed I restarted the system.

I ran the backup again, and ….  no BSOD, at last!, lets see if these older generic drivers last, or if they show up any other issues.

Like everything else in my blog, these are intended as notes for me, how I resolved a problem I had, and I share these in case you have the same problems, They may not be as detailed as other posts and if you want to know more then drop me a line and I will do what I can. 

David 

13 Responses to “Nvidia IDE / SATA Drivers BSOD nvstor32.sys – Work Around”

  1. Fábio Manzoni Says:

    Hi David.
    I saw your post, and I have the same problem with my desktop computer. Using the Event Viewer (inside the administrative tools), i saw that every time my pc hangs with this blue screen, there is an event started just before with nvata.sys (f*king NVIDIA IDE driver).
    I’ll try to use the microsoft generic drivers to see if works for me too. Thanks for the info on your blog.

    Fabio Manzoni
    Brazil

  2. Bryan Says:

    I just wanted to thank you for your blog post. Your solution fixed my similar problem.

    My fresh Vista install never BSODed, but it would hang for minutes after the welcome screen. Event Viewer showed that nvstor32.sys was the culprit, so I began googling. After trying many other possible fixes, your solution was the only one which worked for me. Thanks again =D

  3. AstrO Says:

    I found another way to fix the above problem. You need to download and install the updated nVidia 5.10.2600.995 SATA/RAID drivers (these are not found in the current nForce driver package). I have more information and a download link on my blog http://astro-beta.blogspot.com/2008/03/vista-nvstor32sys-and-bsod.html

  4. Erhard Says:

    I was so brave to install the commended driver by Astro.
    This, because I had the problem, when \Device\RaidPort0 was resetted, the system was dead for 1 minute.

    Looking to the driver properties I saw, that the driver before was a newer one:
    File version: 5.10.2600.998
    Product version: 5.10.2600.0998

    The driver commended by Astro:
    File version: 5.10.2600.995
    Product version: 5.10.2600.0995

    both properties from nvstor32.sys

    But in the first 2 hours there was no reset logged in the event protocol.

    Good luck
    Erhard

  5. Brian S Says:

    Thanks for the help. I messed with this for days. Working greeat now.

  6. Jan Says:

    This solution works. Thank you.

  7. Mohamed MST Says:

    nice onformations

  8. Murali Krishna Devarakonda Says:

    Wow! I’m so glad I saw your post.
    I have had a nightmarish 1 year of intermittent crashes, almost all caused by NVidia multiple drivers. During this time, I upgraded/downgraded (even sidegraded:) drivers, went from XP to Windows 7, changed to a non-NVIDIA video card (ATI).

    When I got the nvstor.sys error, that’s when I realized it’s not just the video card (silly me, I thought that’s all NVIDIA had on my computer).

    I have now rolled back my drivers to the default Windows drivers just like you did. And I wanted to post this message to thank you – before I reboot!

    If everything goes well, I won’t be back (at least not for this issue)!

    Thank you!

  9. hann Says:

    Thanks for your contribution. It solved my problem as well.

    gtrz
    hann

  10. few2many Says:

    Dude, years later, it still works. It has helped me fix my system. My computer is only a year or so old, but the nvstor32.sys was killing me.

  11. thegift73 Says:

    Thank you David for the article and explanation.

  12. drumr1829 Says:

    This is THE only solution that fixed the issues with nvstor/ event 129 BSOD’s, random lockups, hanging on startup and shut down.

    Wow thanks so much….and nvidia…seriously?

  13. garria10 Says:

    Thanks for this – It works! Just watch out for Windows trying to reinstate the duff NVIDIA drivers – it may try immediately after the first restart so ignore the restart invitation straight after restarting, if you follow….

Leave a Reply

