Hosted Exchange and Windows 7

I have been playing around this weekend with Windows 7 and installing my usual app’s, looking to see if anything breaks, and so determining if I should install it on my main production laptop.

Everything I have thrown at it has worked fine, the only issue I had was with Outlook 2007 and my hosted exchange provider Sherweb.

Usually I log into my Sherweb account with my email address and password, however when I use those credentials during set up Outlook 2007 behaves as though the credentials are wrong somehow.

For some reason in Windows 7 during the Outlook  2007 set up you have to use the credentials in the format of ” DOMAIN\USER NAME ”

The domain portion for Sherweb is simpley the Internet domain ” ihostexchange.net ”

The user name can be found by logging into you account at admin.ihostexchange.net and looking for the corresponding SAM user name for the user.

So you logon should be something along the lines of

ihostexchange.net\john.smith_pc-fs_co with your usual password.

After that all is fine.

Hope this helps

David

UPDATE:  Sherweb have now published an FAQ for their customers http://support.sherweb.com/showfaq.php?idarticle=198&idcat=1

8 Responses to “Hosted Exchange and Windows 7”

  1. Bill Says:

    Thanks much! I install win7 and wasn’t sure what sherweb’s legacy domain was. Hadn’t thought to try just ihostexchange.net.

  2. Tim Says:

    I had this problem too. You’re solution worked brilliantly for me! I’d read that I had to use my domain when logging in but didn’t know SherWeb’s and was very suprised when i stumbled across a specific answer regarding SherWeb! One problem though. Each time I re-open Outlook it requires me to re-enter my credentials; something I was used to with Vista so not a problem. However, it removes the domain from my username resulting in me having to re-enter my username as well as password. Any ideas of a solution? Cheers!

  3. Robbie Says:

    Hi,

    This doesn’t seem to work… On outlook’s autodiscover I’ve tried ihostexchange.net\me@email.com didn’t work, so I tried:

    ihostexchange.net\me@email-com.ihostexchange.net

    Which didn’t work either… What are you guys using?

  4. Robbie Says:

    Got it… used ihostexchange.net\me@email-com.ihostexchange.net on autodiscover, then ihostexchange.net\SAM when the dialog popped up.

    Cheers!

  5. Anty Says:

    Thanks for this post. Very useful!!!!!

  6. Ill Collins Says:

    Awesome thanks! have been trying to get this working for a while now.

  7. James Says:

    Talk about jumping through hoops! Thanks for the comments guys – got me up and running on Windows 7 RC 🙂

  8. Brian Says:

    I have this same problem on Windows 7 RTM, and have been trying all sorts of combinations with no luck 😦 I wonder if they changed something else within RTM that makes all the suggestions above useless? Regardless, I’ll be calling Sherweb technical support during normal business hours tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

